Archive for November 9th, 2011

November 9, 2011

“Secret” Detox Drink.. From Dr. AXE


I googled the “Cayenne Pepper, organic lemon, syrup.. ect.ect.ect… don’t eat for a week diet” and came across something even better… Dr. Axe’s Secret Detox Drink- and guess what, I didn’t have to starve myself for a week (which my love for food would have trumped the crazy detox within 2 hours)!

When I found this video several months ago and put the detox drink to the test… Love at first drink! I didn’t have to change my diet or exercise routine, all I had to do was add the “secret detox drink” before every meal. My energy levels increased and I felt amazing!

Ingredients:

1 glass of water (12-16 oz.)

2 Tbsp. apple cider vinegar: Full of enzymes and good bacteria. Helps burn fat and drop blood sugar levels.

2 Tbsp. lemon juice:  Balance blood sugar levels

1 tsp. cinnamon: Antioxidant. Balancing diabetes and blood sugar levels

Cayenne Pepper:  Drop blood pressure and increase your metabolism

Watch Dr. Axe here for details on the “secret” detox drink http://www.draxe.com/video/secret-detox-drink-transform-your-kitchen-episode-36/

WEB MD was not enough for me, I needed more proof…  Luckily for me a work friend of mine is an EXPERT in the herb- ology field, Katie Normal Girl– Sometimes I am even lucky enough to run into her on a coffee break and get a condensed informational session on herbs and their benefits.

Katie’s Expert Opinion on the “Secret Detox Drink”:

 “This is very similar to a recipe for an old digestive aid, that can be used daily to improve overall digestion. You could also add a tbsp (or two…or three!) of honey.  Honey has anti-inflammatory properties, allowing the walls of your digestive tract to better process waste.  It’s also a great antiseptic and antioxidant, which makes it great for the entire digestive tract system and has been used to treat diarrhea, indigestion, stomach ulcers and gastroenteritis.

Your detox/cleanser is also great because it is a gentle detox that won’t flush all of the nutrients out of your body’s system, which some of the harsher detox products can do.  Opening people up to all sorts of problems in their entire system, especially the liver.”